2017 NC

HFNZ National Council

The National Council of the Haemophilia Foundation of New Zealand Inc. (HFNZ) is the overall body responsible for decision-making within the Foundation. The purpose of the National Council is to see that HFNZ achieves results for organisation on behalf of members and the wider community interested in New Zealand’s bleeding disorders community. The National Council is elected by HFNZ members each year at their annual general meeting to govern HFNZ on their behalf.


President – Deon York

Deon has been president since 2007 and a volunteer with this organization since the late nineties. He is a member of the World Federation of Hemophilia’s (WFH) Board of Directors (2010 -) and serves on a range of WFH committees, including chair of Fundraising and Resource Development, chair of the Youth Leadership Advisory Committee, and co-chair of the National Member Organization Capacity Building Committee.

Deon works at the New Zealand Health Quality & Safety Commission as programme manager for the Commission’s consumer engagement programme. He has previously collaborated with the University of Auckland in producing a follow up monograph to the Bleeding Nuisance, which investigated the experience of living with haemophilia in the context of new technologies. An update to this work is currently being developed. Deon has also served on the National Haemophilia Management Group.

Vice President - Catriona Gordon

Catriona and her husband Eugene live in Rotorua with their three sons. Their two eldest boys have severe haemophilia A. Catriona has been involved with the Foundation as a committee member of the Midland Branch since 2005, and as a council member since 2008. She is currently Vice-President and the Safety and Supply Officer for the foundation. As such, she sits on the National Haemophilia Management Group as the patient representative. Catriona has alsp been involved in the Foundation’s twinning programme with Cambodia.

Catriona is a qualified lawyer and runs her own law practice in Rotorua.

Vice-President – Karl Archibald


Treasurer - Hemi Waretini

Hemi is based in Auckland and is an active member of the HFNZ, contributing as Treasurer of the Northern, Piritoto and Youth MRG committees. He also regularly participates at MRG events and as a team leader at national camps. 

Piritoto Delegate – Te Whainoa Te Wiata

Tēnā koutou te whānau o HFNZ.  My name is Te Whainoa Te Wiata, I have severe haemophilia A, I am a father of two and I am currently living in Auckland with my lady Rosalie.  I am in my third year as a student of Linguistics at the University of Auckland, a Reo Māori tutor at The Unitech of Auckland and I am a musician. I feel privileged to have the opportunity to be a part of the National Council on behalf of Piritoto. This a great chance to learn from those who I have looked up to for many years and hopefully grasp a better understanding of the way things are run, my only hope is that I will be able to contribute effectively to the team.

Ngā mihi nui kia koutou katoa.

Central Delegate – Stephanie Coulman

Stephanie lives in Wellington. Her main motivation for being involved with the Foundation is through her son who has severe haemophilia A. She hopes that by being involved she can ensure the Foundation continues to be a strong, energetic and vibrant organisation, providing education, support and social networks as he learns to manage his condition himself.

As the Central Region Delegate and Chairperson, Stephanie endeavours to represent the wider needs of all Central region members. Stephanie is a committed and dedicated team player who is always willing to take on extra tasks.                                                                                                                                                        

Southern Delegate - Theresa Stevens


Northern Delegate - Neil Smith


Midland Delegate - Linda Mellsop-Anderson


Youth Delegate - Courtney Stevens


Seconded Member – Steve Waring



Got some questions about Haemophilia?
Check out our FAQs page